Serving clients in Fayetteville and all of NW Arkansas
Following a serious workplace injury or the development of an occupational disease, your actions play a large role in determining the anxiety and consequences you may experience. While certain questions, like the extent of your recovery, can only be answered through the passage of time, others can be addressed and answered by understanding the basics of Arkansas’ workers’ compensation system. Understanding workers’ compensation in Arkansas can answer questions like, “Who will pay for my medical bills?” or “How can I support my family when I cannot work?”
Working with an experienced workers’ compensation attorney can help you answer questions like these. When you work with Ken Kieklak, Attorney at Law you can rest assured that he is dedicated to fighting for you.
Who is Covered by Workers’ Compensation in Arkansas?
Most workers in the state would be covered by the program because employers with 3 or more employees are required to carry workers’ compensation coverage or obtain a self-insurance waiver. However those who work for a non-profit, religious, charitable or other relief organization may not be covered by Arkansas’ program. Furthermore, certain workers like federal employees, maritime workers and railroad workers are not covered by the Arkansas program because they receive coverage through the federal government.
What Types of Benefits Can I Get From Workers’ Compensation?
Workers’ compensation programs, like the one in Arkansas, typically provides benefits for medical expenses, rehabilitation expenses, and lost wages. Compensation for medical services may include:
- Doctor’s visits
- Hospital bills
- Prescription medications
- Many other approved medical expenses.
Many rehabilitative expenses can also be covered by the program. These expenses may include reconstructive surgery, medical devices like a medical brace, physical therapy, and many other forms of rehabilitation. However for both medical expenses and rehabilitative expenses, you should always seek approval from your employer or its insurance company. Failure to do so may result in your expenses being not covered or delay your compensation.
In terms of lost wages, an injured worker does not become eligible for compensation until the 8th calendar day after the date of your injury. While payments for the first 7 days can be made, they are only made if the duration of the disability is for more than 14 days. While these requirements must be met, the 14 days do not have to fall contiguously on the calendar.
How Can I Apply for Workers’ Compensation Benefits in Arkansas?
Most claims are handled routinely and there is no dispute. While the Arkansas Workers’ Compensation Commission administers the Arkansas workers’ compensation program, one begins the process of applying for benefits by informing their employer that an injury has occurred. You will likely be asked to identify the time, place and mode of injury. Once you have provided this information to your employer, they will inform the insurance company of your injury.
Once the workers’ compensation insurance company is aware of your accident and injury, they are likely to require you to see a company doctor for a physical examination. You should comply with all instructions given by your employer or its insurance company or noncompliance may be used as a grounds to justify the delay or denial of your benefits.
Put a Sebastian County Workers’ Compensation Attorney to Work for You
For more than 20 years, Ken Kieklak has fought for hard-working Arkansans who are injured at work. To schedule your free and confidential initial consultation, call (479) 251-7767 or contact us online today.
Catching a foul ball or a home run hit at a baseball game can be a fantastic experience and can give you a great souvenir. However, baseballs entering the stands with the force of a professional hit can put fans and spectators at risk, especially for children or...read more
If you are involved in a car accident and the negligent driver that struck you was operating a rental car, this could make your situation more complicated. You may be left wondering whether the at-fault driver or the rental service can be held liable for your...read more
Disability benefits can come from a few different sources. If your disability insurance is paid through your work, you might be entitled to certain protections that keep you from losing your job. Other disability programs, like the SSDI program paid by the Social...read more
Claiming workers’ compensation and getting the treatment and coverage you need can be stressful. While receiving workers’ comp., you may be anxious to get back to work – or your doctor may tell you that you should return to work earlier than you might expect. In...read more