Do Insurance Companies Cover Parking Lot Accidents in Arkansas?
A parking lot accident can be a tedious issue to resolve. This is especially true if your vehicle was struck by a person who proceeded to leave the scene of the accident. Fortunately, you can be insured against accidents that occur in a parking lot. If your vehicle was struck in a parking lot due to the negligence of another person, contact an experienced Fayetteville parking lot accident lawyer. You should not have to worry that you are unable to receive compensation for your damaged vehicle. Ken Kieklak, Attorney at Law, is here to explain whether insurance companies cover parking lot accidents in Arkansas.
Car Insurance Coverage for Arkansas Parking Lot Accidents
To learn about whether your car insurance policy covers parking lot accidents, you should read the terms of your agreement. If you opted to go for minimum coverage, you may have coverage for a parking lot accident, but it may not be enough to handle vehicle repairs. This could leave you on the hook for a number of expenses.
Additionally, minimum coverage may also put you in a tight spot if your vehicle was struck, and the culprit fled the scene of the accident without leaving a note. At many car insurance companies, coverage for hit and run accidents require a motorist to pay additional money. As a result, some customers may avoid additional coverage against their interests.
Like many states, the State of Arkansas requires that motorists possess a minimum level of insurance to operate their vehicles within the state. In Arkansas, the mandatory requirements for car insurance are:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $25,000 per accident for property damage
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury per person
While there are mandatory insurance requirements, the maximum compensation provided by these policies can be insufficient, depending on the circumstances of an accident. For example, if a parking lot accident occurred where a person was injured and their vehicle was severely damaged, the minimum requirements may not be enough to cover the costs of the accident. As a result, a victim may have to pursue a personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault driver.
In addition to minimum coverage, many insurance companies will provide you with increased coverage upon your request. This is vital as minimum coverage may not be enough to handle the costs of repairs to your vehicles after an accident. As car accidents are often unpredictable, paying for additional coverage would be a wise choice.
To learn more about what to do after a parking lot accident, you should continue reading and speak with an experienced Fayetteville AR personal injury lawyer.
What to Do After a Parking Lot Accident
If you were the victim of a parking lot accident, you should take steps to make it easier to pursue compensation for the damage to your vehicle and any injuries you may have sustained.
The first step you should take is to exchange information with the negligent driver. Be sure to request all relevant information like name, contact information, make and model of their vehicle, and license plate for their vehicle. This information is needed to report the accident to your insurance company.
Next, you should detail how the accident occurred. For example, if the other driver struck your vehicle because they were texting while driving, you should make a note of this for your records. Any adverse weather or parking lot defects may also play a role in the accident, so you should document these issues as well.
If you were in the vehicle when it was struck, you should seek medical attention if you were injured. If you file a lawsuit against the negligent driver, you do not want your medical expenses to be overlooked.
Additionally, if your vehicle was struck and the driver fled the scene, you should look for any witnesses or ask if the owner of the parking lot installed security cameras. If you cannot determine the identity of the driver, you should speak with your insurance company about whether the accident would be covered when you report the incident.
When to File a Lawsuit After a Parking Lot Accident in Arkansas
Victims of parking lot accidents should consider filing a lawsuit against the at-fault driver for the damage to their vehicle. However, potential plaintiffs should be aware that the statute of limitations will play a role in their case. Specifically, the statute of limitations will determine how long a plaintiff has to file their case.
The statute of limitations is not uniform for every type of case, meaning different types of cases may be subject to different deadlines. In Arkansas, the statute of limitations for a personal injury lawsuit is three years from the date of the accident. This means that if your parking lot accident lawsuit is not filed within three years, the defendant can successfully motion for the court to dismiss your case.
Having a case dismissed can mean that a plaintiff would not be able to pursue their claim in court. This can be devastating if the negligent driver’s insurance is not enough to cover the damage or injuries they caused.
Work with Our Fayetteville, Arkansas Parking Lot Accident Attorney Today
If you were the victim of a parking lot car accident, you should consult with an experienced Arkansas personal injury attorney today. With over two decades of legal experience, personal injury attorney Ken Kieklak can help you pursue compensation for your parking lot accident. The damage from a parking lot accident can be extensive. Fortunately, you do not have to fight your case alone. To schedule a free legal consultation to discuss your claim, contact Ken Kieklak, Attorney at Law, at (479) 316-0438. Our firm can also be contacted online.
How to Recover Lost Wages After a Car Accident in Arkansas
Often, car accident victims in Arkansas are unable to work for some time following a collision. To recover compensation for lost wages from a negligent driver, reach out to our attorneys. After a car accident in Arkansas, victims can recover compensation for lost...
Can I Sue an Insurance Company for Denying My Claim in Arkansas?
Following an accident, victims may file an insurance claim to recover compensation. If your claim was wrongly denied, you may be able to sue an insurance company in Arkansas. If an insurance company denied your claim and you think it made the wrong decision, call our...
Can Disability Income be Garnished in Arkansas?
Social Security Disability Insurance benefits (SSDI) may be granted to a person who cannot work because of a disability. Although this income is not earned from a typical job or occupation, it might still be subject to garnishment. Creditors may seek a court order to...
Are Police Reports Admissible in Injury Cases in Arkansas?
Police reports are created in the normal course of investigations, especially after car accidents. These reports are important for building an injury case, but can they actually be introduced as evidence in your injury case? Usually, police reports are not admissible...