What Types of Vehicle Accidents Should Be Reported in Arkansas?
Although only certain vehicle accidents need to be reported in Arkansas, it’s best to report any collision. If you don’t, you may find it challenging to recover compensatory damages in a lawsuit against a negligent Arkansas driver.
Only vehicle accidents resulting in death, injury, and property damage need to be reported in Arkansas. Victims must call law enforcement officials immediately after a crash, but will have 30 days to inform the Arkansas Office of Driver Services of a collision. It’s also important that you inform your insurance of a car accident as soon as possible. If you fail to report your vehicle accident, there won’t be documentation of your collision. This can make it harder to successfully sue a negligent driver. To prevent such mishaps from derailing your compensation claim, hire an Arkansas lawyer after a vehicle accident.
Our attorneys are here to help vehicle accident victims in Arkansas hold negligent drivers accountable. For a free case evaluation with our Arkansas car accident lawyers, call today at (479) 316-0438.
What Types of Vehicle Accidents Must Be Reported in Arkansas?
In Arkansas, only certain types of vehicle accidents need to be reported. According to Ark. Code § 27-53-202, car accidents that result in injury, death, or damage, must be reported to the necessary agencies. That said, it’s wise to report vehicle accidents of any kind in Arkansas, regardless of apparent severity.
If you were injured in a vehicle accident in Arkansas, you must report it to the police and the Arkansas Office of Driver Services. Arkansas doesn’t specify which injuries need to be reported, so it’s wise to inform the necessary parties of even the most minor injuries. Since some common car accident injuries, like whiplash, can take days to appear, it’s a good idea to call the police and report your crash regardless of your initial injuries. Our Bella Vista car accident lawyers advise that you do this, even if you don’t appear injured after a collision.
It likely won’t surprise you to learn that any vehicle accident resulting in death must be reported to the police and the Arkansas Office of Driver Services. If your loved one died in a car accident caused by a negligent driver, it is the liable party’s responsibility to report the crash. There are no exceptions to this vehicle accident reporting requirement in Arkansas.
Car accidents that result in $1,000 worth of property damage or more must be reported in Arkansas. Victims and negligent drivers must report these collisions to the police and the Arkansas Office of Driver Services. Property damage can include damage to your vehicle and items within your car. It can be difficult to properly estimate property damage after an Arkansas car accident, so it’s best to alert the necessary parties after a collision of any kind.
How Long Do You Have to Report Your Arkansas Vehicle Accident?
Quickly reporting your Arkansas vehicle accident is important. The longer you wait to report your collision, the more challenging it can be to support your claim against a negligent driver. So, car accident victims should learn how long they have to report a crash in Arkansas.
In Arkansas, vehicle accident victims must report certain collisions to the police immediately. You are expected to inform law enforcement officials of an accident resulting in death, injury, or property damage as soon as possible in Arkansas.
Victims have 30 days to inform the Arkansas Office of Driver Services of a crash. That said, if your injuries prohibit you from filing a report, you may not be beholden to a deadline. However, instead of expecting that the Arkansas Office of Driver Services will understand your reasons for failing to file a report, hire an Arkansas car accident lawyer. Your attorney can help you report your collision to the necessary parties so that there is no room for confusion.
In addition to informing the police and the Arkansas Office of Driver Services in a timely fashion, victims must also inform their insurance and a negligent driver’s liability insurance. Depending on the carrier, the deadline to report and file a claim may differ, so it’s important to confer with an attorney to understand how long you will have to do so.
What Happens if You Don’t Report a Vehicle Accident in Arkansas?
If you don’t report your vehicle accident in Arkansas, there may be serious repercussions. Not only can you lose your license, but you can also have difficulty recovering compensatory damages in an Arkansas car accident lawsuit against a negligent driver.
Reporting certain types of vehicle accidents is mandatory in Arkansas. If you fail to report a crash that resulted in injury, death, or property damage, you can face fines and lose your license. Unfortunately for Arkansas car accident victims, that’s not the worst that can happen.
When victims fail to report a vehicle accident to the police, the Arkansas Office of Driver Services, and their insurance, it may be more difficult to file a successful claim against a negligent driver. Reporting an accident to the necessary parties creates vital documentation of a crash. While police reports and reports made to the Arkansas Office of Driver Services aren’t considered evidence in lawsuits, they can still help your Arkansas car accident lawyer support your compensation claim.
Without the proper documentation, Arkansas victims may have difficulty proving their need for damages. Unfortunately, some car accident victims may be unaware of the need to report their collision to the authorities. If you still need to report your car accident, an experienced Springdale car accident attorney can help you do so before it’s too late.
Our Arkansas Attorneys Can Help You Report Your Vehicle Accident Today
If you need help reporting your vehicle accident and filing a compensation claim in Arkansas, our attorneys can help. For a free case evaluation with our Farmington, AR car accident lawyers, call today at (479) 316-0438.
Where Do You File Workers’ Comp if Your Employer is Based in Arkansas?
In Arkansas, any company or business with at least three employees is required to carry Workers’ Compensation insurance. This insurance provides crucial benefits to those who have been hurt on the job. Injured employees who file for Workers’ Compensation can obtain...
Do You Need to Show Medical Records After a Work Injury in Arkansas?
If you suffered a work injury in Arkansas, it is important to get medical care as soon as possible. Not only is this best for your health, it will also be critical to have records of your injuries if you attempt to recover compensation later. Depending on the nature...
Guide to the Statute of Limitations for Injury Lawsuits in Arkansas
While it might seem unfair, victims of a personal injury do not have a timeless right to file a lawsuit. Arkansas, like every other state, has a deadline to file an injury lawsuit known as the statute of limitations. It is vital that you know what the statute of...
What’s a Good Settlement After a Car Accident in Fayetteville?
If you are injured in a car accident, negotiating a settlement with an insurance company will be unavoidable if you want to recover compensation for your damages. However, you might not know what is considered a good settlement for a car accident in Fayetteville....